Platform for African – European Partnership in Agricultural Research for Development

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Announcement: AWARD call for applications 2011

AWARD is a professional development program that strengthens the research and leadership skills of African women in agricultural science, empowering them to contribute more effectively to poverty alleviation and food security in sub-Saharan Africa. AWARD is a project of the Gender & Diversity Program of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR).

The AWARD Fellowship is a two-year program that offers a series of career-development resources that:
  • establish a mentorship for each fellow with a senior scientist
  • build science skills
  • develop leadership capacity
AWARD’s training courses, held over a two-year period, take place in various locations in Africa.

Women agricultural scientists who are nationals of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. Applicants must be available in Africa throughout the fellowship period. There is no age restriction.
Agricultural economicsEcologyNatural resources management
Agricultural engineeringEntomologyPlant/animal virology
AgronomyExtension educationSoil science
Animal and livestock sciencesFood science and nutritionVeterinary sciences
Aquatic resources and fisheriesForestry and agroforestryWater and irrigation management
Biodiversity conservationHorticulture
Crop scienceMolecular biology
(plant/animal breeding)


For application forms and answers to frequently asked questions, please click on the link below that corresponds to your level of education.
Post-bachelor’s information
Post-master’s information
Post-doctoral information
Applicants have until March 25, 2011 to apply for a 2011 AWARD Fellowship. 

No comments:

Post a Comment